Novel is half done and some info on shorts

Well the first seems fairly self explanatory, though I should probably add the caveat that the first half is done in the first draft form only, so there is still much work to be done.  Still it is an accomplishment to be proud of, and I am.  I’ve had the character’s voice in my head for over five years now, so it’s a bit surreal for me to be “done” telling his story.  Also very exciting to start a new POV and see where this character can take me, and the story.

If all goes well with the novel I hope to complete the first draft in five weeks, give or take.  Then I’ll likely take a week off before I start the massive first round of cuts and edits, getting it ready for future edits and eventually for beta readers!  But that’s getting a bit ahead of myself.  First I need to get some words on screen and then I can worry about edits and cuts.

And some shorts!  Yes, I am nearing completion on a short I intend to enter into the Islands Short Fiction Contest (limit 2000 words to Vancouver and Gulf Islands residents).  Hopefully all will go well for me.  I am having loads of fun getting a submission ready to go regardless of how it ends.  Also have a couple other shorts I hope to polish off and post on here when they’re ready!  That’s all for now, back to editing and outlining!

Leave a Reply

